Chapter 2

Even as a prince, I couldn’t just wander around freely, so I was assigned a fiancee.

Lady Eliade, the third daughter of Count Kilstein.

When I first saw her, she had long bangs that hid her face, hemp-colored braids like shrine ropes, a pale complexion dotted with freckles, and a simple demeanor.

Her ill-fitting blue dress seemed like a hand-me-down, something that was in fashion about four years ago.

I believe I even saw the second daughter wearing it at some tea party.

She was also known as the Leftover Lady of Kilstein.

While she was undoubtedly the daughter of the Kilstein couple, her timid personality made her feel inferior compared to her two glamorous older sisters.

One day, during a private tea party disguised as a social gathering, she spoke in a voice barely above a whisper as I lounged in the garden.

To outsiders, we were just a pair of the good-for-nothing prince and the leftover lady. A perfect match, as they say.

It was decided that I was to marry into the Kirschtein family. The Count probably intended to keep me, a royal connection, under his thumb while holding onto the real power himself.

 

“Ellie, you’re lovely. I like your gentle, warm hair color and your quiet voice,” I said.

 

I’d seen enough loud, boisterous women in the harem to last a lifetime.

The gruesome power struggles and hysterical screams were permanently etched in my memory.

I genuinely liked Ellie’s modest and quiet nature, as well as her soft-colored hair and eyes.

While Ellie considered her features ordinary, to someone as unusual as me, they were enviable.

And above all, Ellie was a bright child. Despite being smaller than me, my science-loving fiancee created innovative magic tools.

When I complimented her, I could tell her eyes, hidden behind her thick bangs, blinked in surprise. I chuckled when I saw it.

She was far superior to those loudmouthed, boastful fools.

The Count dismissed her inventions, saying she should spend her time embroidering instead.

I was sure they’d be profitable if sold. That old man was as blind as a bat.

“Luuuutz, your mother used to be a merchant, right? Show your mother her inventions and tell her to try selling them,” I instructed.

The inventions were a hairdryer and a hair iron.

After demonstrating their effectiveness by soaking my hair and then drying it into perfect ringlets, Lutz’s mother jumped at the opportunity.

Women would go to great lengths for beauty. I’d seen countless examples of this, from debutantes and madams in social circles to the women in the harem.

By the way, Ellie later invented a magic tool mixer, iron, stove, and more.

We patented them and made a deal with Lutz’s company to sell them exclusively, earning Ellie 7-25% of the profits.

They became a huge hit, and we were rolling in dough.

Old Man Kilstein threw a fit later, but I didn’t care.

He got a good scolding from Ellie’s grandfather, Old Man Kilstein, for neglecting a golden goose.

He was forced into retirement at the age of forty.

Guess her father wasn’t as strong as he appeared. Oh, so he was adopted into the family.

With Grandpa stepping in, Ellie’s treatment, which had been neglectful until then, improved significantly.

She was no longer given hand-me-down dresses, shoes, or accessories.

However, Ellie, with her love for magic tools, had no interest in socializing, so I took care of that aspect.

Don’t underestimate the survival skills of those who’ve navigated the harem’s power dynamics.

I built various connections, ensuring Ellie could focus on her magic tool creations.

A workshop was built for her within the Count’s mansion grounds.

The distribution of her products went through Lutz’s company, and Grandpa and I managed Ellie’s assets since she was clueless about money.

Ellie’s true desire wasn’t to be a stifled princess but a researcher and craftswoman.

Once she could freely pursue magic tool creation, she abandoned social engagements and immersed herself in her work. Well, that was where I, her fiance, was coming for. Ellie tended to neglect sleep and meals when engrossed in her projects. My job was to support her.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.