Chapter 5

One day, I snapped.

Why do you ask? Because Ellie broke the promise that I had told her to stop doing over and over again.

It was a terrible betrayal. Even though Ellie had said, “I won’t do it again, I’m sorry.” Ellie had lied to me.

The evidence was there, and the situation left no room for doubt. Even when I laid it all out in front of Ellie, she defiantly looked away, unwilling to admit the facts.

“Ellie! Eliade! You know what you did, don’t you!?”

“Well, I don’t know. What are you angry about?”

“Don’t play dumb…

You…

You just ate the marron glace off the top of the mont blanc, didn’t you!? That’s bad manners! Not to mention unhealthy! I told you to stop eating weirdly like that, didn’t I? Just like when you picked out just the raisins from the raisin bread before or ate only the bean paste from the ohagi, or only the star-shaped carrots from the stew! Stop this picky eating!”

“It’s an indulgent dream snack. Lutz ate the leftovers.”

“Lutz! Don’t spoil her!”

“But I was hungry. Alright, I’ll take responsibility and eat the mont blanc without the glace for dessert! Next time I want apple pie!”

“That’s no excuse! Are you two on some kind of deprivation diet? Don’t nibble like that! And don’t leave your clothes lying around either! Put them in the hamper properly! Line up your shoes! Don’t take your socks off inside out! We’ll have apple pie if we get some good apples!”

“Mommy is so noisy!”

“Are you in your rebellious phase? Mommy’s going to cry!”

Wait. I’m her fiance, right? I’m not her mom, right? Lately, even Lutz has treated me like one too… Robert too, has been giving me really pitying looks.

The head maid Polly of the Kilstein Count’s household even said with a tone of making a last-ditch effort, “Only Your Highness Shafsgil can turn the young lady into a real person.” She’s your lady, for crying out loud!

Hold on. I’m her fiance. Not her mom. And a man too!

But Ellie doesn’t like strangers coming into her workshop or room. However, if I leave the cleaning-hating Ellie alone, the rotting forest will only spread. I have to clean it up before it becomes a completely rotting sea.

“Listen, Ellie. Next year I’ll be living in the dorms at the Magic Academy. So either ask someone else to help you, or you’ll have to clean up yourself. You understand, right?”

“Eh? You won’t be here anymore? Don’t wanna! I’ll go to the Magic Academy too, then.”

“But didn’t you say half a year ago that you didn’t want to go to the academy or live in the dorms? Now, you have to endure it for three years.”

“Not being able to eat your cooking for three years, I’ll die. I’ll ask Grandpa!”

Saying that, Ellie dashed off. Thirty minutes later, the sorrowful Grandpa Kilstein came and bowed his head, saying “My granddaughter asked me to help her.” I lost that one.

It was decided that I would move into the royal dorm——no, to be more exact, Ellie had forced her way to make me move into their household manor, using the fiancee clause. Um, we’re a young man and woman, you know? Is that really okay?

Why do I feel they treat me more like their mother than a trusted gentleman? Does my value come down to being a Caring Mommy? (The one who prepares meals and pays for things).

Is this what becomes the useless prince that married to a minor branch family?

Ellie is such a capable lady that she could become a princess consort if she tried. Well, the Kilstein Count’s household amassed their wealth through magic tools. She’s the genius who lays the golden eggs. There are probably plenty of other suitors besides me.

…To be honest, I’d cry if she dumped me now. I’d be utterly devastated, no joke.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.