Chapter 1 — Set on Journey

Chapter 1 — Set on Journey

There is an old story.

It was said that there was a king who gathered all kinds of wealth and power. Apparently, the king sent his servants to find a way to become immortal. Unfortunately, he couldn’t find a way to become immortal and died in agony, longing to become immortal. No matter how rich or powerful you are, in the end, you will die eventually. No matter what kind of creature is, death, as the most unavoidable moment of life, will always come. And such a story that told the impermanence of our world.

But I have a different opinion when I heard such a story.

I would be happy if I could die!

What a nice thing to have an ending!

Let alone happy, I’m not even close to that goal, at least when we compare it to the torture of living for 10,000 years!

That’s right, I, Perez Gantor, have been cursed and have been living for 10,000 years, so when I heard that story, it won’t move my heart.

It happened 9984 years ago, the time I was cursed when I still 16 years old.

I hardly remember anything that I had done when I was 16 years old, but the only thing I remember is the incident that caused me to become immortal.

It was a certain witch who put a curse on me. Not like a wrinkled hag, she got a pretty young figure and even beautiful if I would say so. Well, although she’s not a hag now, she’s become bones already.

She was a renowned witch who’s been doing a lot of wicked things.

As my job at that time was to kill or capture any criminals, so it led me to confront that witch.

And a result, I was totally defeated without anything left. She almost killed me, so I begged her, ‘please don’t kill me!’, then she gave me a choice: to die here right now or become immortal.

If the current me was at his place right now, I’m going to choose to die for sure. But at that time, I foolishly chose to become immortal.

Afterward, she cast a spell to make me become immortal.

Seriously, no matter what I did, no matter how much it damaged me, I didn’t die. Not even I grow old.

In the beginning, I was pretty excited about it because I can’t die anymore, that is. I thought I’d gained an amazing ability. I even thanked the witch for it.

At that time, I haven’t know the pain of not being able to die, let alone understood it.

I had realized it after becoming immortal for 120 years. My friends, my wife, and many more people were dying before me. I felt overwhelmed for a bit, but I could still accept that it’s inevitable. But when I saw my children grow old and die, I was so shocked. For the first time, I had understood the pain of becoming an immortal.

I didn’t want to see my loved ones die again, so I began to stay away from people. I’ve been secluded until 300 years had passed. It’s so painful. It’s so heartbreaking. It’s so agonizing to live all the time in solitude. Unable to bear it, I went out, got another painful experience, secluded, went out, and repeated the process until about a thousand years passed.

But it didn’t last forever. If anything, the longer I have been in contact with people, the more I have come to understand the depth of humans. I felt nothing when associating with humans. In other words, I’ve been sick of it.

But, the real hell started from here. As long as I still have a feeling for the death of my loved ones or the loneliness of being alone, then I still able to feel happy at the least.

But gradually, no matter what I do, I had become numb to feel anything. As time went by, I accumulated more knowledge, but the things I did felt less fun.

I’ve tried all kinds of things.

For no reason, I built tall towers, used magic to turn me into a woman, sexually assaulted men, defeated demon kings, became a demon king, created a religion, created horrible monsters and sealed it up, created huge statues of myself, changed my appearance, dug some huge holes, built some dungeons, and so on.

But after my age reached 10,000 years old. I’d gotten sick of it! Completely fed up! I didn’t feel like doing anything! I mean, since 5000 years ago I had gotten tired of it. Though I got a little bit of fun when became a demon king and taking over the world then got bored 200 years later.

Anyway, I’m tired, so let me die now!

But as I said before, I can’t die because of the curse. I need to break this spell. After living for many years I can do almost everything, except breaking this curse. Many people said the witch was so incredible. But if I got serious to break this curse, I don’t think it’s impossible. I’m confident that I can break it.

Alright. Let’s take a journey and off to break this immortal curse then die peacefully! As my current body doesn’t feel any pain, I’ll bet I’m gonna die without feeling anything.

I leave my house and set on a journey. Speaking of my house, it was just a tattered cottage deep in the mountains. I’ve spent my life here lazily for a hundred years, but now I’m tired of it, so I was about to leave the house and set on a journey.

“Roooooaaaaarrrr!!!!”

It sounds familiar. It seems there’s a dragon near here, I mean, dragons are pretty rare creatures. Looking up, I spot a dragon was flying in the sky.

Oh, I’ve got an idea. Let’s try diving down from his back. I doubt it can kill me, but there’s nothing wrong with trying the common method first. I hopped up and got on the back of a flying dragon as no normal human can jump like me. Unaware of my presence, the dragon keeps at its flying. I stand up, then—

“Here I go!”

—I jump down from the back of the dragon.


Previous | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 1 — Set on Journey

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.