Chapter 16 – Walking Inside The Lair

Chapter 16 – Walking Inside The Lair

Inside of the Dragon King’s Lair was pitch black. But dragons have special eyes that allow them to see in the dark. I also found out Meon can use night vision magic, so she followed me without turning on the lights. Surprisingly, the other three, Remi, Mina, and Aisha, can use it as well. After all, casting this magic was not that difficult.

“This place was so wide. Where are they right now? I think I can ask the dragon who knows his whereabouts.”

“Do you think they would tell us out?”

“They had to.”

“And I suppose I didn’t have to ask you how, did I?”

After we’re walking through the Dragon King’s Lair for a while, I heard a roar that should’ve closed by.

Then, with a thud, the ground shook, and a huge dragon appeared. It’s red. From its size, it looked like an ancient dragon that’s been alive for 500 years.

“Waaaa… Waaaa….”

“It’s over… We’ll definitely die here…”

“……”

Remi and Aisha were shuddering. As for Mina, she hasn’t moved a muscle, she must have fainted again.

“[Human? Did you come here to be killed?]”

Is what the dragon said in a low voice.

“What! Are you going to kill me? Okay, I’m ready, kill me now.”

“[…what a weird human. As you wish, I will kill you.]”

Said the dragon and stomped me down.

*Splat!!*

I crushed by a big dragon’s paw.

“[Next will be you.]”

“”Hieeeek!!””

The dragon who thought it had killed me was changing its target. It scared Remi and Aisha.

“Don’t ever think that’s enough…”

“[Hmm?]”

“… to kill me!”

I lifted the dragon’s leg, then—

“[Whaaaa!?]”

—threw that huge body through the air. After that, it fell to the ground, caused a thunderous noise rang out.

“Geez, you said you’re going to kill me, so I went to get killed. Though I had expected it’ll be useless.”

“P-Perez-saaaaan…!”

“I never thought I’d see him throw a dragon…”

Aisha sat down weakly.

“You’re such a difficult character to deal with…”

As Meon said this, she was about to use her evil magic to finish it off.

“Hold on.”

I stopped Meon from doing that.

“Why did you stop me?”

“We just want to ask his whereabouts. Furthermore, I come here to borrow Yellow Sage’s knowledge, so if you kill that dragon now, it’ll make me look like the bad guy. That’s why I stopped you.”

“What a hassle. But I don’t have any obligation to comply.”

“Then I don’t have a choice but to throw you out.”

I remarked, glaring a little at Meon.

“Ugh… I understand. I won’t kill it.”

After she Stopped her evil magic, I approached that dragon.

“You see, I’m looking for the Yellow Sage, do you know where is he?” so I inquired.

“[Ugh… So you want to know where Barathea-sama is? I would never tell you.]”

“I suggest you watch your mouth before speak. I’m pretty familiar with dragons, such as their weaknesses and the spots where the pain is most likely to be felt. For example, around the base of their wings.”

I walked up to the base of the wing and pinched it slowly.

“[Owowowowow! I got it! I’ll tell you! Please stop!]”

It suddenly became very meek. Dragons come in all shapes and sizes, but this guy seemed to be the type of dragon that would cower at the hands of the stronger ones and intimidate the weaker ones.

“H-He treats a dragon look like a baby…”

“Too strong.”

Aisha and Remi said with a shudder.

“So? Can you tell me where is he?”

“[Barathea-sama, whom the humans call the Yellow Sage, is at the far end of this lair… To reach that place, you will have to defeat many dragons that much stronger than I am. It’s better for you to leave…]”

“I see, so it was at the far end. Okay, you should rest for a while.”

I don’t want it to interfere, so I hit its neck to make it unconscious. I know I can’t kill them so It would be troublesome if they call their friends.

“Okay, let’s go.”

“Did it said it’d better if we leave this place…? Some of them might be stronger than the dragons you fought now.”

“That’s not a problem”

I keep going without paying any attention to her.

“Uuu, can we go home now? At least, could we keep stay around here?”

“I suppose that would be dangerous. If we were separated from Perez-dono, what leaves us is, death…”

“I see…”

Aisha and Remi were following me.

“Hey, you forgot to bring that guy.”

Meon pointed out.

“Ah, right! I forgot about Mina!”

After that, they went to wake up Mina, who seemed to have fainted. I can’t wait anymore, so I went ahead.

“Aaaah! Wait for meeeee!”

“Don’t leave meeeee!”

Holding Mina in their arms,  Aisha and Remi were following me.

After that, we walked deeper and deeper. Because there’re no dragons that could contend with me, so we proceeded onward beating some of them without reducing our speed. And then…

“[I’m Super Ancient Thunder Dragon, Emestairwiddle Peperchromandown. From this point, you shall not pass…]”

“Your name too long.”

So I launched a kick at it. I kicked with an exquisite force that would not kill, but knock out the dragon whose name was unnecessarily long.

“Somehow a dragon that looked like the last boss was defeated in three seconds.”

Mina, who had been watching me beat him, said.

“I felt stupid for having been so scared of them.”

“I mean, Mina-chan, you used to freak out and pass out every time a dragon appeared, but you’ve gotten used to it now.”

“Yes, I’ve got used to it.”

Now that we are getting deeper in, I wonder if it’s time to meet the Yellow Sage?

“We almost reached at the end of this lair, we should able to meet Yellow Sage soon. From the first dragon we had met, it definitely said this is the right place.”

I walked a little further and saw a door that looked quite luxurious.

“I think this is the place.”

Meon looked at the door and said so.

“I think so too.”

I have that feeling as well.

“What kind of person is the Yellow Sage?”

“He must have tremendous knowledge.”

“I’m starting to get nervous. Let me prepare my mind…”

Without paying attention to what had Aisha said, I opened the door and stepped inside.


Prev | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 16 – Walking Inside The Lair

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.