Chapter 39 – Rootbeer Tower

Chapter 39 – Rootbeer Tower

We eventually arrived in Rowyn. Here we could see the Rootbeer Tower from this town.

“It’s a really big tower…”

“It’s all the way up to where the clouds are…”

“Perhaps the Blue Sage is at that summit.”

Remi, Mina, and Aisha muttered as they looked at the tower.

The girls were right, Rootbeer Tower was so high that it hangs over the clouds. It’s a beautiful blue color. That’s probably the reason why they call him the Blue Sage.

“Well, let’s get over there.”

I was about to make my way to the tower.

“H-Hold on. We’re just going up there? No matter how you look at it, climbing that thing isn’t going to be that easy. I think we need to make some preparations.”

“Preparation? I don’t think I need any preparation. I mean, you don’t have to come with me. And I intend to keep my word. Besides, you aren’t much use to me.”

“We aren’t…”

“Much use…”

“You say!?”

The three of them said in shock.

“I… I’ve always been aware of that, you know… But it’s depressing when someone actually says it…”

“We can’t keep going like this.”

“That’s right. We, the Lacias Knight Order, are an order only the chosen can enter… We can’ t let people think we’re useless.”

The three gathered around and whispered something like that.

What are the Lacias Knights Order anyway? I thought these guys were adventurers? Or am I remembering wrong? Well, whatever.

“Let’s prove that we can be of help if we really put our minds to it! We’ll definitely help you climb the Rootbeer Tower!”

Remi declared with a serious expression.

Then, someone came up behind me.

“Hey, are you people going to the Rootbeer Tower?”

A man dressed as a guard called out to me.

“Yeah, that’s the plan.”

Remi replied.

“What are you trying to do, going to that place?”

When he asked that question, now it was my turn to answer—

“I’m going to see the Blue Sage.”

“Meet the Blue Sage, huh. I don’t know what you want to know, but you better not go to Rootbeer Tower.”

“Why? Is it dangerous?”

“I am not saying it’s dangerous. There weren’t many demons around. It’s just that you can’t get into that tower in the first place. Because the door is locked by magic.”

“If it’s locked by magic, why not unlock it by magic?”

“If it was a simple locking spell, it could be solved, but since it was a lock cast by the Sage, that wouldn’t work. According to the sign on the door, it will open if you say the password, but no one knows exactly where to find the password. Rumor has it that the only people who have ever been in Rootbeer’s Tower are the Blue Sage who built it and his apprentice.”

“Hmm.”

If you can’t open it, you can just smash the door to get in or use magic to fly over it.

“Okay, I’ll go.”

“Hey! Did you hear what I said! I don’t care what happens to you!”

“P-Please wait, just let me make some preparations…!

I ignored her and headed straight to the tower.

Meon, who had been observing me in silence for a long time, followed me as a matter of course, and the other three, as if they had given up, also followed me.

After that, we walked for a while. Since the tower was in plain sight, I thought it wasn’t too far away, but it was.

I kept going and going, but the tower didn’t get any bigger.

After walking for about three days, the sight of the tower became much bigger. Once you get close to it, you can see how huge it was.

There was a sign that said, “This is the Rootbeer tower,” along with an arrow. Who put up this sign, I wonder? Was it the Sage himself?

After following the arrow, we arrived at the entrance of the tower.


Prev | TOC | Next

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.