Chapter 26 – To Her Mother’s Place

Chapter 26 – To Her Mother’s Place

“My wife, Melesa, was murdered by a greedy person a long time ago. I loved my wife, but ever since then, I have been depressed and apathetic.”

Lex began to talk.

“About 17 years ago, a man wore a silk hat came to see me. The man asked me, ‘I heard that there is a dragon living here that becomes very beautiful when transformed into a human.’ So I told him that my wife had been dead for several years. The man was surprised, thought long and hard, and asked me where his wife’s grave was. I didn’t tell him because he might be a grave robber. Then the man told me that he could bring my dead wife back to life.”

“Did he bring her back to life?”

“Yes. The man took out a ball that was emitting some kind of strong light and told me that I could use it to bring back a dead person to life. Of course, I don’t believe him. I told that man to leave. The man said he didn’t need to go to her tomb, he just needed some of her remains inside our house. ‘Would you like to try?’ he asked. I had my wife’s scales in my house. After pondering for a while, I decided to try it for a bit, so I gave him her scales. Then the man really brought my wife back to life.”

A ball that emits a strong light… Ah, that’s the one I left behind. A long time ago, I used to do something to pass the time, like put one million humans worth of life energy extracted from me and a book on how to perform resurrection magic in a treasure chest and place it in a difficult place. By the way, I got bored after placing about 30 of them, so I quit.

So that man took it and used it.

“After my wife came back to life, I cried for joy. It was just a short time before I was knocked unconscious. And the next thing I knew, my wife was gone. Was it all a dream? I thought so and forgot about it for a while.

Decades later, about two years ago, I heard a rumor a dragon woman had married Tyrant King. The rumored dragon had the same features as Melesa, so I thought, ‘don’t tell me…’ Then I went to the Gloss Kingdom.

As I was searching for my wife, I saw the Tyrant King walking with her beside him. The man who came to my house was a retainer of the Tyrant King, and in order to gain his favor, he offered my wife to the Tyrant King. I had a hard time deciding what to do. Since my wife is still alive, I thought this might be a good idea.

But I’ve heard many rumors about his treatment of his wives. I heard Tyrant King was using my wife as a tool for his sexual needs. I couldn’t resist my impulse and challenged the Tyrant King to a fight over my wife… And then I was killed. Later, I found myself in Barathea’s room in the Dragon King’s Lair.”

I think I know what’s happened. It was quite a tragedy. After that, I told everyone else what had happened.

“My mother was being used as a tool for sexual needs…”

Barathea’s facial expression was tinged with anger.

“Unforgivable…”

“I thought you wouldn’t believe me until you saw it with your own eyes.”

“A-Assuming it was true, then what he did is unforgivable!”

“You’re such a troublesome guy.”

Why can’t you just honestly tell me that you believe me?

“Still, will you be able to get your mother back against the Tyrant King?”

“I don’t think that’s possible…”

“I’m sure everything will be fine. Even if he’s strong, he’s probably weaker than me. Let’s just go to the Gloss Kingdom and get your mother back!”

“Indeed, after all, Perez-san is immortal…”

“I know but scary things are scary.”

They seemed to be very afraid of the Tyrant King. He might be strong enough to kill me. It would be a blessing if that were the case, but I don’t think it’s going to happen.

And so we headed to the Gloss Kingdom.


Prev | TOC | Next

One thought on “Chapter 26 – To Her Mother’s Place

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.