Chapter 27 – Gloss Kingdom

Chapter 27 – Gloss Kingdom

We’ve arrived in the Gloss Kingdom. It took us about 15 days to get there, which was quite a long time since it was so far away. After that, we headed to the royal capital and arrived there.

“So this is the royal capital of Gloss Kingdom.”

“It’s just as I’ve heard.”

“It’s a terrible place.”

The streets of the king’s city were nothing but terrible. There were beggars everywhere on the sides. The roads were not maintained properly and garbage was scattered everywhere. Most of the buildings were dirty, not cleaned properly, and some houses were half destroyed.

There are two kinds of people walking down the street: those in luxurious clothes and those in tattered clothes. The disparity was probably quite large.

“I’ve heard that Tyrant King has been wreaking havoc across the land, but I never thought it would be this bad.”

Remi said, looking surprised at the sight of the town.

“I’ve never been to the Gloss Kingdom before, but I didn’t know it was like this.”

Mina also expressed her impressions. It was rumored to be a bad city, but she hadn’t expected it to be this bad.

“I don’t care about the cityscape, let’s just get on with crushing the Tyrant King. Should I go to the castle?”

I can’t wait to learn how to break the curse of immortality. So I have no intention of staying in this town for long.

We’re on our way to the castle, but on the way, we found a strange notice.

“This is…”

It seemed to be an edict from the king. It said, the king, Bagdamd, will accept a duel whenever anyone wants to kill him.

“He’s a king and he’s accepting duels?”

“I hear he’s accepting duels to pass the time.”

“Heh, he must be very confident with his power.”

By the way, here are some rules in the duel: surrender is impossible, the one who dies loses, and the one who survives wins. Running away is against the rules. You can have as many people dueling as you want. To sign up for a duel, inform the gatekeeper standing in front of the castle that you wish to fight, and then stay in the waiting room in the castle until the day of the duel. The duel will take place approximately five days after the offer is made. The duel will take place at the king’s city dueling ground. However, if there are too many people, the fight may take place outside of the king’s city.

“I see. Well, I’ll kill the tyrant king anyway. For now, I’ve to go to the castle. You guys don’t have to follow me. I’m gonna take him down alone. You can follow me if you want to die, though.”

“Eh? But if we don’t follow you…”

“You might forget us again…”

“But as expected, it might kill us.”

“Oh, don’t worry, I won’t forget. It’s not a problem if it’s just for a short fight.”

“I-Is that so?”

They were a little skeptical but seemed to be convinced anyway. Incidentally, Meon also stopped following me this time, saying that the risk was too great. Barathea said she would follow, but was stopped by Remi, Aisha, and Mina. In the end, she was convinced. Well, I can bring her back to life even if he kills her, so I guess it’s okay.

After that, I went alone to the castle where the Tyrant King was.

It took me about an hour to reach the castle. It’s a pretty big castle, but there are gold and jewels everywhere, which I find in rather poor taste. I guess it’s just a castle to let the people know how powerful he was.

I then told the gatekeeper.

“I want a duel with the Tyrant King.”

So I told them.

“Um, you want a duel?”

“That’s right.”

“Where are your companions?”

“It’s just me.”

“I would advise you to stop trying.”

“What makes you think that?”

“No, because… honestly you don’t look very strong.”

“How rude. You know, appearances can be deceiving. I’m strong enough to defeat even the Tyrant King.”

“Y-You’re very confident. I understand. If you insist, I’ll go ask him about a duel.”

With that, the gatekeeper stepped into the castle.

And after a while.

“Sorry to keep you waiting. Please follow me.”

So I followed the gatekeeper then led into a rather large room. On the inside, I found swords, magic tools, and other things that would be needed for battle.

“This is the waiting room for the challenger. The duel will probably begin in five days, so please do not leave this room until then. In the meantime, if you feel your body getting sluggish, we have all the tools you need to practice, so you can work out there.”

Is that why these weapons and such were put there?

I don’t need it, though.

After spending the next five days in the room, the day of the duel arrived.


Prev | TOC | Next

One thought on “Chapter 27 – Gloss Kingdom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.